Book Reviews

  1. Alive in the Spirit {Book Review} (12/20/2016) - Alive in the Spirit: Experiencing the Presence and Power of God is a never before published book on the teachings of A.W. Tozer concerning the Holy Spirit.  This book focuses on the individual life of the believer.  Not the corporate church.  The thing is that the church can only go as far as individuals are […]
  2. Lake View The Insanity of God {Book Review} (1/5/2017) - The book "The Insanity of God" was not the book I had anticipated it to be. I expected that it would talk more about the loss of their son and how they continued to serve God. The reality is that was only a minor part of the book. This book had me evaluating my faith. Could I serve God if everything appeared to be failing? Would I be willing to try day after day?
  3. Girl in Pieces {Book Review} (1/19/2017) - Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. Girl in pieces is a deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. I feel like this book had so much potential. The characters are very complex and well-developed. The story pulls you in because you want to know Charlotte's story.
  4. Waiting for Wonder {Book Review} (1/26/2017) - Waiting for Wonder is a journey into the heart of God where you will wrestle with personal questions, think deeply about God’s true character, and learn to appreciate His divine work as you discover your own path to the promised land. Recapture your hope, restore your soul, and renew your vision of a wondrous Savior when you learn to live on God’s time.
  5. The Mark of the King {Book Review} (1/31/2017) - After being imprisoned and branded for the death of her client, twenty-five-year-old midwife Julianne Chevalier trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling 1720s French colony of Louisiana, where she hopes to be reunited with her brother, serving there as a soldier. To make the journey, though, women must be married, and Julianne is forced to wed a fellow convict. When they arrive in New Orleans, there is no news of Benjamin, Julianne's brother, and searching for answers proves dangerous. What is behind the mystery, and does military officer Marc-Paul Girard know more than he is letting on? With her dreams of a new life shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous, rugged land, despite never being able to escape the king's mark on her shoulder that brands her a criminal beyond redemption.
  6. No More Faking Fine {Book Review} (2/9/2017) - If you’ve ever been given empty clichés during challenging times, you know how painful it can feel to be misunderstood by well-meaning people. Far too often, it seems the response we get to our hurt and disappointment is to suck it up, or pray it away. But Scripture reveals a God who meets us where we are, not where we pretend to be.
  7. You are Free {Book Review} (2/16/2017) - Jesus whispers, I gave my life to set you free. I gave you purpose. I called you to live in freedom in that purpose. Yet we still hobble through life, afraid to confess all the ways we push against this truth, because we can’t even believe it. We continue to grasp for the approval of […]
  8. Nothing to Prove {Book Review } (3/20/2017) - If I were your enemy, this is what I would do: Make you believe you need permission to lead. Make you believe you are helpless. Make you believe you are insignificant. Make you believe that God wants your decorum and behavior.
  9. Stay The Path {Book Review} (4/25/2017) - Stay the Path is a beautiful book that lays out how to keep going toward your purpose and destiny. Finally...someone has written on the struggles on your adventures with God. I've always heard you need to be in God's will. It sounded like that was the sweet spot and life would go easy. What a lie! In God's will brings about struggles and battles like never before.
  10. 52 Amazing Things {Book Review} (5/2/2017) - There are wonderful examples of real life application with references to movies and everyday stories that will help you to apply these truths to your life. Each of the things is only a couple pages long so it is easily read and meditated on throughout your day. This is really good for those who are still struggling to figure out what it means to be "In Christ" and how that affects your life.

Advertisements