What Happens When You Ask God to Strengthen Your Faith

Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans-John Lennon

I had the best of intentions to write to you regularly this year and I was doing great for awhile. Sometimes we make plans and then God interrupts with His own things.  I’ve been a bit blindsided with a recent revelation and at times real life takes precedence over writing to share what God is teaching me.  I can’t yet share what God is doing in my life currently but I hope to share with you soon.

Today I am reminded again of a song that I used to love and sing with my whole heart.  The lyrics are:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Yeah

Oh Jesus yeah, my God

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

Suzie Eller wrote a great post today that resonates so greatly so I encourage you to go check that out. Go read it now or the rest of my post will not make good sense.

I share this post with you because this past Wednesday I was just sharing with a friend and sister in Christ that often I get lost in my worship and have from early in my Christian walk and I will be singing to God and my heart will cry out, Yes Lord, this I want.  The only problem with that is often it doesn’t check with my head which might see the danger in asking for such things.

So this song a few years ago was one of those songs for me.  I embraced it with all I had.  Then God began to use it as He sometimes does in my life.  There are songs for different seasons, and this one came to represent change.  It was during the time I embraced this song that I stepped up and led my first Bible study group, just weeks after that I was asked by God to leave my church.  Switching churches I heard this song much less.  But in 2015, it appeared again at the Women’s conference at our church and I knew the minute I heard it that God had something important to say to me.  As I said the song represents change in my life.  That conference was so perfectly aimed to prepare me for what was coming.

During this season and seeing it again this morning as I read Suzie’s post I realize that again the things happening in my life currently are things I asked for.  Only as is often the case I had no idea that it would look like this.  I find that deep and deeper are recurring themes these days.  At times I find myself wondering if I have what it takes to stay above the waves.  I am looking around and the shore has disappeared from sight and I find myself alone in the deep.  Then I recall how I keep asking God to strengthen my faith.  I forget that our faith will never be strengthened while we are safely watching from the shore.

One thought on “What Happens When You Ask God to Strengthen Your Faith

Leave a Reply

