Purpose to Live Purposefully in 2017

I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward. 15 So let those [of us] who are spiritually mature and full-grown have this mind and hold these convictions; and if in any respect you have a different attitude of mind, God will make that clear to you also. ~Philippians 3:13-15 (AMPC)

newyear2017

As we move forward into this year let us be sure to start with a clean slate.  Let us take all the things we didn’t get done in 2016 and release them. All the ways we think we failed, we let them go.  Our Father is not going to recount the ways we failed.  That comes from the accuser of the brethren and we have authority over him.  Let us reach forward to the plans God lays before us. I’m sure that by now you have already sought God for direction for the New Year. You have probably all set some goals to work towards this year.

As I move forward I look at Proverbs 29:18 Where there is no vision [no redemptive revelation of God], the people perish; but he who keeps the law [of God, which includes that of man]—blessed (happy, fortunate, and enviable) is he.”  So I make plans and set goals.  I balance it with Proverbs 16:9 “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.”

For much of my life, I have failed to live purposefully.  I find that being intentional is much more fulfilling.  It helps me to be a better steward of what God has given me.  I was going to share some of my goals with you as I have in past years.  I find that while they are good goals it doesn’t benefit you to hear them.  Instead, I want to talk about the fact that once you purpose to live out your goals you will face opposition.  I love New Years!  I woke up with the bubbly feeling of a beautiful chance to do things better.  Something about the clean slate gives me confidence and it inspires me to dream.  I love that feeling.  I do this every year.  Inevitably something happens though and soon the shiny wears off the new year.  Life gets hard.  Trials come.

It stinks when that happens.  Yesterday started out beautifully and then before the day was out there were many things trying to steal my peace.  I had a choice to make.  I could stand firm and keep my peace or I could hand my peace over to the enemy and admit defeat.  Praise God that I realized quick that it was all designed to take the shiny off my hopes and dreams.  Having purposed in advance though what was going to happen I was able to stand unmoved.  My year still looks amazing!  I am seeing already all the different ways “Let Go” may not look as I had planned.  I couldn’t help but laugh when I saw that everything was carefully handpicked to help me to stand firm.

God really does have a sense of humor! If you have sought Him about your theme for the year then you can know that it will have been hand picked.  He already knows every struggle you will face this year.  So let’s purpose that this year we will keep our peace and not let the enemy steal one more thing from our lives!

I would love to pray for you this year as you set your goals.  I would love for you to share with me your “One Word” theme or your main goals so that as we journey out this year together I can pray for you in these areas.  Leave it in the comments or if it is more private drop me an email.  Let’s purpose to live this year in absolute peace no matter what happens around us.

Linking up with:

OneWordCoffee Linkup

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Purpose to Live Purposefully in 2017

  1. I hope it’s all right if I share something with you that reflects your statement, “God really does have a sense of humor!” One of our balmier winter days, my husband advised me to wear my warm parka to work. I said no, feeling a little smug and thinking that, although we are to obey our husbands, this was just advice–and it was clearly incorrect. It was a mild winter day, perfect for my light jacket. I entered my workplace to find my supervisor wearing her coat and scarf. “The heat’s off,” she said.

    1. That’s funny, and it reminds me of the need to come under the authority God gives us…apparently even in the simple things. I’m so glad you shared!

Leave a Reply

