Mary and Single Parenting

As I was cleaning up this morning and preparing to do some writing I was thinking about how I haven’t yet taken time this year to really meditate on Christmas as I have in years past.  It’s not that I don’t still love it.  I’ve just been caught in the throes of my latest project and most of my time has gone into planning and working on it.  As I began to think on the Christmas story which has long been one of my favorites.  There is just something about Mary that I love.  I have tried to imagine what it must have been like to be in her shoes during this time.  I saw something just a bit differently than I have before.  So I wanted to share.  I know 3 posts in 3 days is a lot…but it will be awhile before I write again.

So I was thinking about Mary and it hit me.  God knew what the world would be like today.  He knew that there would be a time when pregnant single mothers would be more common than not.  He knew that sinful living would make its mark on the lives of the world.  Sex outside of marriage is sin.  In His wisdom, though He redeemed single motherhood.  That is not to say that He approves of sinful living.  But to have the Mother of God be single and yet to be wed.  God shows us that regardless of the situations we find ourselves in if we will turn to God and listen to His direction He can and will guide us out.

For the first time, I saw the beauty in the Christmas story to give the single mom hope.  Yes, your situation is hard.  But because we can look at Mary’s story and see step by step how God lead them through trials and hard times.  We know that God never changes.  Therefore we can know that if you will seek God in prayer that He will provide you with the wisdom and knowledge it takes to raise your precious child to be a strong child of God.

The world doesn’t give much hope to the single mother.  Especially the single mother pregnant outside of marriage.  God however sees and loves that Mother and He wants you to know that you are not alone.  Christmas can sometimes seem really hard when you are a single parent and you don’t know if you will have enough to bless your child with the Christmas you want them to have.  God is saying I am Immanuel-God with us.  I am with you and I want you to see that you are not in this alone.  I love you and I want to help you.  Draw near to Him this Christmas and let Him minister to your weary heart.

 

Save

2 thoughts on “Mary and Single Parenting

  1. As a single mother, I love this. This is SO good. I’ve never heard that perspective on being a single mother before.
    “God shows us that regardless of the situations we find ourselves in if we will turn to God and listen to His direction He can and will guide us out.”
    Absolutely and Amen!

    1. I had never heard that perspective until the Lord presented it to me. I am so glad that He has spoken to you through my words as I attempted to share what He was showing me.

Leave a Reply

