Alive in the Spirit {Book Review}

Alive in the Spirit: Experiencing the Presence and Power of God is a never before published book on the teachings of A.W. Tozer concerning the Holy Spirit.  This book focuses on the individual life of the believer.  Not the corporate church.  The thing is that the church can only go as far as individuals are willing to go.  Our lives are only as surrendered to the Spirit as we choose to be.

alive-in-the-spirit

I wasn’t all that fond of how the book was compiled.  There are places where it jumps around to me from one sermon or topic to another.  The language of Tozer is very simplistic and at times I wish he would have gone deeper in some areas.  The thing that struck me as powerful was the fact that Tozer died in 1963.  This book speaks to our current situation in the church today.  It was a powerful thing to realize that all He said then is still a problem now.

This book spoke to me in so many areas that it will be hard to put it into words.  The things that touched my heart may not speak to your heart.  Tozer talks about how once we are filled with the Spirit that we lose control.  Tozer also explains that at times we try to take control back and the personal struggle that exists.

Tozer attempts to talk about all the aspects that come with being filled with and surrendered to the Spirit in our lives.  He tries to explain what being Spirit-filled should look like in your life and the conditions that come with that.  Such as we can’t really be filled with the Spirit if we refuse to come under the authority of the Spirit.  I highly recommend that if you want to know more about the role of the Holy Spirit that you give it a read.

As much as I didn’t love the style of the writing I can’t deny that the words spoke to my heart and it is a book that I will likely read again and again.

**I received a free copy from Bethany House Blogger Review Program in exchange for an honest review of the book.

Save

Save

One thought on “Alive in the Spirit {Book Review}

  1. Hi Deanna! I enjoyed your book review. Some people perceive and process differently in their thoughts and have trouble concentrating for long moments. In this case the jumping around might work well. I am one of them. I have been learning and studying about the Holy Spirit. I found your review useful and thoughtful. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

