Love One Another

I had the best of intentions to present you with a series for October on falling in love with the Bible.  Then I got crazy busy and never got the prep work done for it.  As I reviewed the 2 posts that I wrote out I realized that it sounded a bit legalistic. I wasn’t comfortable sharing it.  Honestly I’m doing two different studies right now in addition to personal studying. I realized that I didn’t much have time to write or do the series the justice it deserves.

Instead I just thought I would share one thing that God has revealed to me recently.  It could be awhile before I can share more as God is working on me in some different ways. I hope that at some point I will be able to share that as well.

Owe no one anything except to love one another, for he who loves another has fulfilled the law. 9 For the commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not bear false witness,” “You shall not covet,” and if there is any other commandment, are all summed up in this saying, namely, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” 10 Love does no harm to a neighbor; therefore love is the fulfillment of the law. Romans 13:8-10

I’ll be the first to say I don’t know how to love as I should. I’ve watched broken people live out a broken love. Those who have gotten close to me will tell you I fail daily.

God revealed recently that I was committing a disservice toward those in my life. I’m listening to a teaching on love and suddenly it hits my spirit. Each time I have a negative thought about how someone perceives me, or hear whispered lies to me about a friend, I am bearing false witness.  I may never speak it aloud. When I allow my thoughts to camp on these things I’m going to feel more insecure, rejected, unimportant.  How I think about it will dictate how I act the next time I see that person. This will also affect my perceptions of the situation.

Lysa Terkeurst says in the book Uninvited, “If we allow our thoughts to stink that smell will leak out of every bit of us-our words, our actions, and especially our reactions.”

Suddenly I have forsaken the commandment to love.  Instead I’m erecting walls and concerned about self protection.  Without saying a word I have created a division in my heart.

Another quote from the book Uninvited, “Suddenly, I assign my thoughts to that person. I hear her saying these same hurtful things. I feel labelled and judged and, yes, rejected.”  This just really served as confirmation to me of what I felt God was revealing to me in the verses above.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. 9 The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:8-9

3 thoughts on “Love One Another

  1. Wow. I think God revealed this to me today. Especially the wall of protection as soon as I feel hurt, or rejected. It’s a tough thing to grasp. I think part of me now wants to share my reaction with God because I can’t handle the feelings and I don’t want to regret something I said later.

  2. I understand. It is hard when you feel like you need the walls of protection. God is showing me more and more how He longs that I get honest with Him about how these things make me feel.

Leave a Reply

