Seeking God Intentionally Will Make Changes in the World

Photo Credit: Praying @ Altar2 Roswell UMC via Flickr

There is so much hurt going on in this world. Our hearts grieve as we listen to friends share their struggles. We can’t avoid the hurting people all around us. Something needs to change. But who knows where to begin.

As a culture, we have given way to being busy. Everyone is busy, rushed, can’t stop to talk. Most people couldn’t take on one more thing their schedules packed. Their hearts frazzled they’re worn out and frustrated.

I hear people say I wish I had time to pursue this. I wish things would slow down. I understand. I do. We think life will slow down one day. One day in the distant future. The reality is that life will continue to get and stay busy.

I think that part of the problem is that we often take on burdens that are not ours to carry. (Tweet This) We let others place responsibilities on our shoulders that are not ours. There are only certain things that God has given you to carry. Our limited resources can only do so much.  God will grant us strength.

Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the Lord, The Creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. 29 He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength. 30 Even the youths shall faint and be weary, And the young men shall utterly fall, 31 But those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint. ~Isaiah 40:28-31 (NKJV)

The storm you are facing has not caught God by surprise.  He is not worn out, exhausted and wishing you could deal with it on your own.  He’s not pacing the floor wringing His hands. He’s seated on the throne. He already knows what’s needed.

God has been showing me lately the importance of being quiet before Him.  I am learning that only when we are fully present with Him can we be fully present in the lives of those we love. (Tweet This)  Only when we’re filled with Him can we pour out of our overflow.  If we are struggling just to get through the day then we can’t listen and engage or be available to help others.

It has to start with learning to have peace inside and out.  For the longest time, I didn’t even know this was possible.  My mind was a constant turning from one direction to another. Even if my body was at rest my mind was not. It is a learning process to choose what you think about, casting all your cares on God.  I love how the Amplified says it in John 14:27

Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]

Photo Credit: Chris Liu-Beers via Unsplash
Photo Credit: Chris Liu-Beers via Unsplash

Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed. Do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated.  It is a choice. What we allow in our lives will affect how we affect others. Our lives affect those around us for good and for bad. We have to learn to be intentional about what we think and what we do. bg-twitter(Tweet This)

27 Jesus resumed talking to the people, but now tenderly. “The Father has given me all these things to do and say. This is a unique Father-Son operation, coming out of Father and Son intimacies and knowledge. No one knows the Son the way the Father does, nor the Father the way the Son does. But I’m not keeping it to myself; I’m ready to go over it line by line with anyone willing to listen.

28-30 “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:27-30 (MSG)

We need to take our schedules and with prayer lay them before the Lord.  Go over them line by line and let God tell you what burdens that you need to let go.  Taking your emotional baggage, your to-do list and asking the Lord what your part is and what you must do. Listen for an answer.  He will reveal to you what stays and what you need to give to Him.  He will guide your every decision.  It may take you awhile to go through everything you have on your plate with the Lord.  But I assure you that if you will lay it before Him you will find that your load becomes much lighter in the end.

We need to be intentional with our time before the Father. As we learn to be with Him, He will train us on how to better fight our battles.  We will learn to stop pointing fingers, protesting, and attacking one another. Instead doing our battles in prayer shoulder to shoulder taking authority against the enemy. This way we will affect change in the world around us.  The only way to win is on our knees listening for Gods wisdom on how we can move forward.  We don’t always know how to see change but God knows all that we need to know. He can help us to be available to help the hurting world.  It must start with Him first. Seek Him. Listen. Confess. Then take what He shows you and act on it.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Seeking God Intentionally Will Make Changes in the World

  1. I know this to be true. I had a counselor explain this to me. It has helped me tremendously to stop and think about whether this or that issue is mine to carry, Put another way, he told me we sometimes buy what is not ours. Thank you for reminding me of this.

    1. Praising God that He used my words to remind you of something important to you. I know for me I am constantly having to reevaluate the things I choose to carry.

Leave a Reply

